Department of Basic Education Spelling Bee South Africa

The DBE Spelling Bee South Africa (Spelling Bee) is aimed at improving learners’ performance in languages, especially in English.

The Spelling Bee season process starts with schools responding to the call to register by filling in the attached registration form. All schools are invited. The growth in the number of schools that enrolled for participation has grown tremendously.

Each province sends three champion spellers to represent it at the National championships. The strength of the Spelling lies in every learner being given a chance to participate from the classroom level to the highest level possible in the competition, according to his/her capability.

The Intermediate phase (Grade 4-6) is still the only category for the competition whose winners will proceed to the National championships. For the first time, in 2016 a list of the Foundation Phase (Grade 1-3) was made available. Schools are requested to encourage junior spellers to take part at this level. The Competition will be held only in English.

For further enquiries, kindly contact Mr PJ Ngoepe: Sport and Enrichment on 012 357 3442, email, ngoepe.pj@dbe.gov.za.

All schools, including Special schools, are invited to enter. Participation in the programme is free.

 

PROVINCIAL SPELLING BEE COORDINATORS

20 April 2016

PROVINCE

NAME/S

TELEPHONE

FAX NUMBER

EMAIL ADDRESS

Northern Cape

Ms B Khumalo

053 839 6407/6484

 

berylkhumalo@gmail.com

Western Cape

Ms P Smit

021 467 2244

021 467 9369/0214672056

Portia.smit@westerncape.gov.za

Free State

Ms K Plaatjie

0514308251/4134/1045

051 430 8251

Plaatjiek@edu.fs.gov.za

Letsoaras@gmail.com

North West

Ms B Masilela

081 397 3064

 

bmasilela@nwpg.gov.za

Gauteng

Mr M Venter

011 843 6776

086 544 9801

Marius.venter@gauteng.gov.za

Eastern Cape

Ms Z Matshingana

 

0604466166

0406084614

zoliswamatshingana@webmail.coza

Limpopo

Mobayi SP

015 291 2658

0865449801

mobayisp@edu.limpopo.gov.za

Kwa-Zulu Natal

Ms T Vilakazi

0338465589/5572

0866518167/0338465572

Thokozile.vilakazi@kzndoe.gov.za

Mpumalanga

Mr Vusi Mathenjwa

013 766 5822

0865664190

mathvj@gmail.com

 

Copyright: Department of Basic Education 2016 Terms Of Use Privacy Statement