Newsroom » Media Releases » English

Article Details

Minister Motshekga to honour teachers at The 20th Annual National Teaching Awards, 14 February 2020

Basic Education Minister Mrs Angie Motshekga and the Minister in The Presidency Mr Jackson Mthembu will host the 20th National Teaching Awards (NTA) on Saturday 15 February 2020 at the Soshanguve East Secondary School, Soshanguve Block XX in Pretoria, Gauteng Province.

The NTA is an annual event held by the Department of Basic Education to recognize and celebrate teachers for their dedication and outstanding work, at times under extremely challenging circumstances. Nominees go through a rigorous selection process by expert panellists who put teaching practice and excellence to the test. Teachers nominated represent the diverse nature of schools in the education sector in the following categories of Excellence:   Grade R   Teaching, Primary School Teaching, Secondary School Teaching, Primary School Leaders, Secondary School Leadership, Special Needs Teaching, Technology-Enhanced Teaching and Learning, Teaching Natural Science Teaching (GET), Teaching Mathematics (GET), Lifetime    Achievement Award the Prof  Kader  Asmal  Award.

Media is invited as follows:


Date:              Saturday, 15 February 2020

Time:             14:00

Venue:           Soshanguve East Secondary School, Block XX, Soshanguve, Pretoria


Media RSVP:

Terence Khala:            / 081 758 1546


Media Enquiries:     

Hope Mokgatlhe:                  079 817 0427

Elijah Mhlanga:                    083 580 8275




You must be a registered subscriber in order to view this Article.
To learn more about becoming a subscriber, please visit our Subscription Services page.

Written By: DBE Webmaster
Date Posted: 2/19/2020
Number of Views: 1405

An error has occurred. Error: Unable to load the Article Details page.
Copyright: Department of Basic Education 2021 Terms Of Use Privacy Statement