Newsroom » Media Releases

Article Details

Minister Motshekga congratulates the incredible teachers who won at the NTA's, 09 March 2015


The Minister of Basic Education, Mrs Angie Motshekga has congratulated all the finalists who were honoured at the National Teaching Awards last night, but more especially those who walked away with the top honour of being named the best in each category. The Minister hosted the glittering gala dinner event for the 15th Annual National Teaching Awards at Gallagher Convention Center in Gauteng.


Deputy President, Cyril Ramaphosa delivered the keynote address at the prestigious event highlighting the important role teaches play in developing a society. He said without incredible teachers he would not be the man he is today, he said we would not have had the calibre of great people such as the late President Nelson Mandela, and we would not have developed as a country like we have over the last 20 years if it wasn't for the hard work and dedication of our teachers, because it is teaches who are responsible for nurturing and developing the future of this country. He went on to say the teachers honoured at the NTAs should be a shining example of what an exceptional teacher should embody, and all teachers should strive to emulate the example the have set. 


The winners in each category walked away with incredible prizes, these included  generous cash prizes in all categories,  Samsung tablets and BlackBerry cell phones, double return airline tickets to any domestic destination, as well as the winners in the top eight categories got to drive away in a brand new Chevrolet Spark, all courtesy of our generous sponsors, which included Vodacom, Airlink, Massmart and DBE.


The winners in each category are as follows: 


Excellence in Primary School Teaching


1st Place – Ms Marna Jonker, Laerskool Mareetsane,North West Province

2nd Place – Ms Anneline Govender, Brenthurst Primary School, Gauteng Province

3rd Place – Ms Nothando Ndlovu, Dukuza Primary School, KwaZulu-Natal Province


Excellence in Secondary School Teaching


1st Place – Ms Wilhelmina Venter, Witteberg High School, Free State Province

2nd Place – Ms Refiloe Malatjie, UJ Metropolitan Academy, Gauteng Province

3rd Place – Ms Ellen Nkuna, Swartruggens Intermediate School, North West Province


Excellence in Primary School Leadership


1st Place – Mr Silas Pillay, Halfway House Primary School, Gauteng Province

2nd Place – Mr Amos Mabuza, Sindzawonye Primary School, Mpumalanga Province

3rd Place – Mr Llewellyn Aiken, Vooruitsig Primary School, Northern Cape Province


Excellence in Secondary School Leadership


1st Place – Mr Leonard Kope Malatsi, St Pauls High School, Limpopo Province

2nd Place – Mr Vuyani Langa, St Patricks Secondary School, Eastern Cape Province

3rd Place – Mr Dennis Karelse, Albertinia High School, Western Cape Province


Excellence in Grade R Teaching


1st Place – Ms Pat Schrade, Nyanda Primary School,KwaZulu-Natal

2nd Place – Ms Maryke Gird, Laerskool Unie, North West Province

3rd Place – Ms Lisa de la Cornillere-Schutte, Cambridge Primary School, Eastern Cape   



Excellence in Special Needs and Inclusive Teaching


1st Place – Ms Jennifer Harrison, Bedelia Primary School, Free State Province

2nd Place – Mr Brendon Bussy, Battswood Arts Centre, Western Cape Province

3rd Place – Ms Caryn Reddy, Ms Catherine Hauvette, Ms Daniella Teixiera, Ms Adéle 

      Combrinck and Ms Willemine van Velden, Delta Park School, Gauteng Province


Excellence in Technology-Enhanced Teaching and Learning


1st Place – Ms Michelle van Wyk, Onze Rust Primary School, Free State Province

2nd Place – Mr Tiro George Shoai, Matlhaleng Secondary School, North West Province

3rd Place – Ms Elmarie Labuschagne, General Smuts High School, Gauteng Province


Excellence in Teaching Mathematics (FET)


1st Place – Mr Morné Smit, Hoër Volkskool, North West Province

2nd Place – Ms Johanna Willemse, Shengeza High School, KwaZulu-Natal Province

3rd Place – Mr Moegemat Rashied Wynford, Victoria Park High School, Eastern Cape Province


Excellence in Teaching Physical Science (FET)


1st Place – Mr Nndavheleseni Thomas Mudau, Jonathan Mushathama Secondary School, Limpopo Province

2nd Place – Mr Edwin Mphikeleli Botomane, Sophatisana Secondary School, Eastern Cape Province

3rd Place – Ms Ida Abueng Lesotho, Sunrise View Secondary School, North West Province


Prof Kader Asmal Excellence Award

1st Place – Ms Thembisile Mavis Mdlalose, Thembimfundo Special School, KwaZulu-Natal 



Lifetime Achievement Award

1st Place – Mr Ganasen Reddy, Glenhaven Secondary School, KwaZulu-Natal Province

2nd Place – Mr Albert Dill, Transorania School for the Deaf, Gauteng Province

3rd Place – Mr Leepile Ishmael Mompati, Albert Morkoka Secondary School, Free State Province


Kha Ri Gude Mass Literacy Volunteer Educator


1st Place – Ms Azwihangwisi Virginia Maligana, Limpopo Province

2nd Place – Ms Nokuthula Ngqalakwezi, Eastern Cape Province

3rd Place – Mr Tebogo Motaung, Free State Province


Kha Ri Gude Mass Literacy Volunteer Supervisor


1st Place – Ms Nkaneke Joyce Komana, Limpopo Province

2nd Place – Mr Vusumuzi Godlo, Gauteng Province

3rd Place – Ms Euginia Dladla, Western Cape Province


Kha Ri Gude Mass Literacy Volunteer Co-Ordinator


1st Place – Ms Mpho Iris Chabaesele, North West Province

2nd Place – Ms Tintswalo Stephina Mayimele, Limpopo Province

3rd Place – Ms Batlile Habedi, Gauteng Province


Kha Ri Gude Inclusive Education Volunteer Educator


1st Place – Mr Obakeng Shadrack Sebolao, Free State Province

2nd Place – Ms Gcwalisile Dhlamini, KwaZulu-Natal Province

3rd Place – Mr Sipho Ntombela, KwaZulu-Natal Province


Kha Ri Gude Inclusive Education Volunteer Supervisor


1st Place – Ms Saseraka Naicker, KwaZulu-Natal Province

2nd Place – Mr Christopher Nair, Mpumalanga Province

3rd Place – Mr Mfundo Lebaka, Eastern Cape Province


Kha Ri Gude Inclusive Education Volunteer Co-Ordinator


1st Place – Mr Othusitse Eric Gama, Free State Province

2nd Place – Mr Jimmy Baloyi, Limpopo Province

3rd Place – Ms Charita Shikwambana, Limpopo Province


The specific Criteria for the Lifetime Achievement Award are:


Sustain a high level of achievement and commitment throughout a long teaching career by


• Receiving results, awards and recognition over a long period of time e.g. awards from Provincial Departments of Education and other organizations;


• Showing endurance, commitment and perseverance to the benefit of the school and the education sector in general (e.g. starting and sustaining a school, centre or community project);


• Facing and overcoming challenges in and outside the school.

The Professor Kader Asmal Excellence Award seeks to recognize educators who, in their work, demonstrate the key values that were a hallmark of Professor Kader Asmal’s leadership:


• A demanding educational activist who leads by example’

• An educator with a conscience and a feel for social justice;

• Takes/has taken a stand for an issue (popular or unpopular) on grounds of conscientiousness;

• Intellectual tenacity and rigour; and

• Creative and inspired visible delivery.


Enquiries:  Elijah Mhlanga - 083 580 8275 

                  Troy Martens – 079 899 3070


You must be a registered subscriber in order to view this Article.
To learn more about becoming a subscriber, please visit our Subscription Services page.

Written By: Administrator Account
Date Posted: 1/11/2016
Number of Views: 4600

An error has occurred. Error: Unable to load the Article Details page.
Copyright: Department of Basic Education 2021 Terms Of Use Privacy Statement