1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Newsroom
  4. Resources
  5. Programmes
  6. Curriculum
  7. Information for...
Newsroom » Media Releases » English

Article Details

Basic Education Minister and the Governor of the South African Reserve Bank to launch “2017 Monetary Policy Committee Schools Challenge’’, 20 July 2017

The Minister of Basic Education Mrs Angie Motshekga and South African Reserve Bank Governor Mr Lesetja Kganyago invites you to the launch of the 2017 Monetary Policy Committee Schools Challenge at the Reserve Bank in Pretoria on Friday, 21 July 2017.

Piloted in 2012 with the Gauteng Education Department, the MPC Schools Challenge offers learners the opportunity to become central bankers (Governor and Deputy Governors) for a few months, setting policy, analysing markets and finally delivering a Monetary Policy Statement. The schools challenge is a flagship project for the Bank’ s Corporate Social Investment programme which has over the last few years expanded to include schools across seven provinces.

The 2017 challenge will have schools from Eastern Cape, North West, and Northern Cape invited to participate and all team members must be enrolled for Grade 12 with Economics and Mathematics as their subjects in the current year.

Members of the media wishing to attend the launch of the 2017 Monetary Policy Committee Schools Challenge are requested to RSVP as indicated on the attached invitation.

Members of the media are invited to the media launch taking place as follows:

Date:                Friday, 21 July 2017
Time:               09h00
Venue:             South African Reserve Bank Conference Centre, 370 Helen Joseph Street (previously Church Street), Pretoria

Enquiries:        Elijah Mhlanga: 083 580 8275 | Troy Martens: 079 899 3070

You must be a registered subscriber in order to view this Article.
To learn more about becoming a subscriber, please visit our Subscription Services page.

Written By: buhlebendalo somgede
Date Posted: 8/7/2019
Number of Views: 384

An error has occurred. Error: Unable to load the Article Details page.
Copyright: Department of Basic Education 2021 Terms Of Use Privacy Statement