1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Newsroom
  4. Resources
  5. Programmes
  6. Curriculum
  7. Information for...
Newsroom » Media Releases » English

Article Details

Team South Africa victorious at The Hague, 26 January 2016

The Department of Basic Education is proud of the achievement of Team South Africa for winning the 2016 International Schools Moot Court competition at The Hague. The South African team comprised of learners Nthabiseng Mbatha, Simon Motsheweni, Paseka Selinyane, Claire Rankin, Clara-Marie Macheke, Katelyn Chettle and Shandre Smith representing schools ranging from rural schools to former model C.  

The South African team comprised of learners who had made it to the finals of the South African Schools Moot Court Competition which was held in October 2015. The competition is held at the Constitutional Court and presided over by Constitutional judges. The Schools Moot Court Competition is implemented in partnership with the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development, the University of Pretoria led by Prof Haynes, and funded by the Foundation for Human Rights. The company petition is also supported by independent law firms, non-governmental organisations and the University of Venda.

This year’s topic at the International Moot Court Competition at The Hague tackled the topical issue of crimes against humanity during the time of war. The twelve countries that participated in the competition were Argentina, Bulgaria, Germany, Mongolia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Russia, St Martens, USA, Venezuela and South Africa. Contestants were given an opportunity to argue both as defender and complainant using international criminal law and treaties that are relevant to the International Criminal Court.  

The competition is presided over by the judges of the International Criminal Court. This year Judge Howard Morrison and Judge Raul Pangalangan presided over the competition. We take the opportunity to congratulate Claire Rankin and Clara-Marie Macheke from the Springfield Convent in the Western Cape for taking the top spot at the International Schools Moot Court Competition at The Hague after toppling Team USA. We also want to appreciate the provincial coordinators and national officials of the department for the dedication and hard work in supporting the road to success for the learners.

You must be a registered subscriber in order to view this Article.
To learn more about becoming a subscriber, please visit our Subscription Services page.

Written By: buhlebendalo somgede
Date Posted: 8/7/2019
Number of Views: 882

An error has occurred. Error: Unable to load the Article Details page.
Copyright: Department of Basic Education 2021 Terms Of Use Privacy Statement