Thutong Educational Portal

TFunza Lushaka Bursary Scheme

Kha Ri Gude

You Tube

the 2015 South Africa School Choral Eisteddfod National Championships

The 2015 SASCE kicked-off smoothly at Rhema Bible Church in Randburg on 30 June 2015, as learners ascended the stage to battle it out during this year’s championships.

The primary schools participated in 9 different categories, including a new category for Boys Choirs. The level of the competition is very high and the next two days will prove to be very interesting. Click here for daily updates. 


The South African Mass Literacy Campaign making strides

The National Reading Campaign and the Kha Ri Gude roadshow that took place at the Ackerville Sports Ground in the Mpumalanga Province on 23 June 2015, to monitor and evaluate the status of the Kha Ri Gude Mass Literacy Campaign, is in line with the Departmental theme for this year, “A reading nation is a winning nation”.

The 1000 Mobile Portable Libraries Project will be launched across South Africa this year. According to Dr Morongwa Ramarumo, the CEO for the Kha Ri Gude Mass Literacy Campaign, “libraries have a role to play in addressing literacy factors, from access to materials to training, promotion and cooperation. Read more...


A multi-million state of the art school is delivered in the Mpumalanga Province

Basic Education Minister, Mrs Angie Motshekga, joined by Mpumalanga MEC of Education, Mrs Regina Mahaule, and Glencore SA Coal CEO, Mr Clinton Ephron, officially handed over a multi-million rand school, built at a cost of R75 million on 12 June 2015.

The new school is part of a major relocation project linked to Glencore’s Tweefontein Optimisation project. Read more...


Latest News

Kha Ri Gude reading and library services roadshow makes way to Mthatha, 01 July 2015


Having started this leg of the roadshow on Tuesday 23 June 2015 in Witbank and moved on to Nongoma in KwaZulu-Natal and Giyani in Limpopo, the Kha Ri Gude reading and library services roadshow will, on Wednesday 01 July 2015 move onto Mthatha in the Eastern Cape. Read more...


Department of Basic Education briefs Portfolio Committee on progress on Inclusive Education and rural education, 23 June 2015

The Department of Basic Education today briefed the Portfolio Committee on Basic Education on key issues relating to the status of rural schools, the work done up to date and challenges that are being faced. Read more...


Address by the Minister of Basic Education, Mrs. Angie Motshekga, MP, at the 2015 Kha Ri Gude Adult Mass Literacy Campaign Roadshow held at the Ackerville Stadium in Mpumalanga, 23 June 2015


Latest Uploads

Copyright: Department of Basic Education 2015