Safety in rural communities headlines the agenda during the Presidential Siyahlola Monitoring Programme in the Eastern Cape Province

Basic Education Minister, Mrs Angie Motshekga, together with Eastern Cape MEC for Education, Mr Mandla Makupula, and various government officials, joined President Jacob Zuma in Lusikisiki in the Eastern Cape Province on 25 June 2017, to monitor the status of basic service delivery in the Province. The visit was part of the President’s Siyahlola Monitoring Programme aimed at improving service delivery in communities across the country. During this visit, the President ensured the community of Lusikisiki, including its learners, that safety is one of Government’s priority programmes and that community members will need to work hand in hand with Government to promote safer environments in their respective school communities.

The improvement of school infrastructure, education management and governance, as well as school safety took centre stage during the visit.  In his address, the President said that Government will accelerate basic service delivery to rural communities by ensuring that important services such as education, health, water and community safety are given special attention. Government is currently delivering newly built schools in the Eastern Cape Province as part of the Accelerated Schools Infrastructure Delivery Initiative (ASIDI). These schools have become a beacon of hope for the majority of learners in rural communities as they no longer have to travel long distances to and from schools to acquire free quality basic education.

During the visit, DBE officials engaged with Lusikisiki community members on various Departmental programmes that have been initiated to support learners in advancing their academic goals. Information on the Second Chance Matric Support Programme, the Funza Lushaka Bursary Programme and the Teacher Recruitment Database was distributed whilst showcasing the sterling work the DBE has been involved with to improve quality education in the country.  

Copyright: Department of Basic Education 2017 Terms Of Use Privacy Statement