1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Newsroom
  4. Resources
  5. Programmes
  6. Curriculum
  7. Information for...

SA-SAMS training concluded across provinces

The 2019 SA-SAMS training in provinces concluded this week in the Mpumalanga Province.  The weeklong training commenced in Limpopo during the first week of August and was conducted in all nine provinces.

The sessions were attended by provincial and district Education Management Information System (EMIS) officials, as well as provincial officials from other directorates that use data from schools for reporting. In Gauteng, more than 700 officials attended the training. The computer-based training included showing the relevant functions and upgrades on SA-SAMS such as the Integrated Quality Management System (IQMS), Curriculum, Policy on Screening, Identification, Assessment and Support (SIAS), NSC registration, Attendance management, Learning and Teaching Support Material (LTSM), National School Nutrition Programme (NSNP), School Governance reports, School Finances and School Safety.

Emphasis this year was also on the management of access control to the data on SA-SAMS and capturing by the various accountable personnel at schools using current business processes. Time was also spent on the various quality assurance processes at school and district levels to ensure that the reported data is credible. Training was also extended to include the Special Care Centre Project. Outreach team members and grant managers received refresher training on SA-SAMS, whilst quality assuring the data for collection.

The training covered all functions available on the DBE system, identified gaps to ensure that quality assurance processes are adhered to by all policy owners to receive credible data for reporting and support in the Education Sector. The training was conducted by the SA-SAMS team, Ms Carinne van der Westhuizen, Ms Pauline Ramphele, Ms Weziwe Mati and Ms Mumsy Notwane and was attended by Chief Director, Mr Bheki Mpanza and Director, Ms Ayesha Suleman in the KwaZulu-Natal, North West and Mpumalanga Provinces.

Copyright: Department of Basic Education 2019 Terms Of Use Privacy Statement