Search
Search
Menu
  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Newsroom
  4. Resources
  5. Programmes
  6. Curriculum
  7. Information for...
Programmes » Home Education

Home Education

Home Education is a programme alternative to attending public or independent schools where a parent of a learner of compulsory school going age may provide education for his/her own child/ren at home.

Do you prefer to teach your child at home?  If so, apply to the head of your Provincial Education Department to register your child for Home Education. The lesson you offer your child must fall within the scope of the following compulsory phases of education:

What records do I have to keep?

After  your child has been registered for Home Education you must keep the following:-

  • record  of attendance
  • portfolio of the child’s work
  • up- to- date records of the child’s progress
  • portfolio of the educational support given to the child
  • evidence of the continuous assessment of the child’s work
  • evidence of the assessment and or examination at the end of each year
  • evidence at the end of grade 3,6 and 9, that shows whether your child has achieved the outcomes for these grades
What you should do

Apply electronically, using the applicable application form, to the head of your Provincial Education Department and attach the following documents with you:

  • parent/s certified ID copy
  • In case of foreign nationals certified copies of passport /study permit/work permit/Asylum document is required
  • last copy of school report (if the child was in school before, but if the child is only starting school now you must attach an immunisation card)
  • weekly timetable which includes contact time per day
  • breakdown of terms per year (196 days per year)
  • learning programme
  • certified copy of child’s birth certificate

Timeframes 

It may take up to 30 days for your applications to be processed.

How much does it cost?

The service is free.

Forms to complete

The application forms can be downloaded from the right-hand section of this page ->.

Know your Home Education Co-ordinators

Office

Coordinator

Telephone

Emails

Address

Eastern Cape

Mr M Sotyato

040 608 4411

mzwandile.sotyato@ecdoe.gov.za 

Private Bag X 0032
BISHO
5600

Free State

Dr N Mokone

0514470038/ 0037

N.Mokone@fseducation.gov.za 
moletaelizabeth057@gmail.com
Motlagomangooo@yahoo.co.za
semadbiz998@gmail.com
khueler@gmail.com

Private  Bag X 20565
BLOEMFONTEIN
9300

Gauteng

Mrs S Mdunge

010 600 6202

GDEHomeEducation@gauteng.gov.za  Sybil.Mdunge@gauteng.gov.za
Carol.motshwane@gauteng.gov.za
Kegomoditswe.Ramadiro@gauteng.gov.za

PO BOX 7710
Johannesburg
2000

KwaZulu-Natal

Ms D Motloli

0333486111/115

Dineo.Motloli@kzndoe.gov.za
Sibusiso.Mpethwane@kzndoe.gov.za
Sandile.Mbanjwa@kzndoe.gov.za
Nosabelo.Shangase@kzndoe.gov.za

Private Bag X 9137
PIETERMARITZBURG
3201

Limpopo

Ms  E Baloyi

0152909382

schoolaffairsoffice@gmail.com
BaloyiME@edu.limpopo.gov.za 
SetlhakoMl@edu.limpopo.gov.za

Private  Bag X9489
POLOKWANE
0700

Mpumalanga

Dr  M Pieterse

0137665875

M.Pieterse@mpuedu.gov.za
drmcpieterse@gmail.com

Private Bag X 111341
NELSPRUIT
1200

Northern Cape

 

053 839 6345

manukusegotsane@gmail.com

Private  Bag X 5029
KIMBERLEY
8300

North West

Ms P Pule

0183898204

Ppule@nwpg.gov.za
Mlephogole@nwpg.gov.za

Private Bag X 2044
MMABATHO
2735

Western Cape

Mr  D Louw

0214672653

Deon.louw@westerncape.gov.za

Private  Bag X 9114
CAPE TOWN
8000

 

Copyright: Department of Basic Education 2021 Terms Of Use Privacy Statement