Second Chance Matric Support Programme


Thutong Educational Portal

TFunza Lushaka Bursary Scheme

You Tube

The Department of Basic Education


The Department of Basic Education was formed when the former National Department of Education was split into two: DBE and the Department o Higher Education and Training. The DBE deals with all schools from Grade R to Grade 12, including adult literacy programmes.

The aim of the DBE is to develop, maintain and support a South African school education system for the 21st century.

Our vision is of a South Africa in which all our people have access to lifelong learning, as well as education and training, which will,  in turn, contribute towards improving the quality of life and building a peaceful, prosperous and democratic South Africa.

Our mission is to provide leadership with respect to provinces, districts and schools in the establishment of a South African education system for the 21st century.

About the DBE

Copyright: Department of Basic Education 2015